About KHL ( texts taken from official KHL website) :

The Kontinental Hockey League is an International League, set up in March 2008 to promote the successful development of hockey in Russia and other countries in Europe and Asia.
On March 27, 2008 the Hockey Federation of Russia (FHR) officially handed over all rights to stage the national championship to the KHL. The highest ranked Russian team will be proclaimed the Champion of Russia.

The KHL president is Alexander Medvedev, also CEO of Gazprom, and businessman and public
figure Gennady Timchenko, also owner of Gunvor and Volga Resources Group.

The KHL is divided into two Conferences – Eastern and Western. Each Conference consists of two divisions. Four divisions of the League are named in honor of great players and coaches: Vsevolod Bobrov, Anatoly Tarasov, Valery Kharlamov and Arkady Chernyshev.

Western Conference :

Bobrov Division

Vsevolod Bobrov (1922-1979) – legendary Soviet hockey player, Olympic Champion, World Champion (twice), European Champion (three times) and USSR Champion (six times), scored 332 goals in his career; he was elected to the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame in 1997, the year it was created. 

  • Dinamo Riga (Latvia)
  • Jokerit Helsinki (Finland)
  • Dinamo Minsk (Belarus)
  • Spartak Moscow
  • SKA St. Petersburg
  • Slovan Bratislava (Slovakia)
  • Medvescak Zagreb (Croatia)


Tarasov Division

Anatoly Tarasov (1918-1995) – the most successful CSKA and USSR coach, three times USSR Champion as a player; as a coach he won nine World Championships, 11 European Championships, three Winter Olympics and 17 USSR Championships. In 1974 he became the first man from outside North America to be elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

  • Dynamo Moscow
  • CSKA Moscow
  • HK Sochi
  • Lokomotiv Yaroslavl
  • Severstal Cherepovets
  • Vityaz Chekov
  • Torpedo Nizhny Novgorod

Eastern Conference :


Kharlamov Division

Valery Kharlamov (1948-1981) – Soviet hockey star, the best Soviet hockey player ever. He spent his entire career with CSKA. Eight times World Champion, seven times European Champion, won two Winter Olympic Games and 11 USSR Championships. In 1998 he was elected to the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame, and in 2005 – to the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

  • Ak Bars Kazan
  • Avtomobilist Yekaterinburg
  • Metallurg Magnitogorsk
  • Neftekhimik Nizhnekamsk
  • Traktor Chelyabinsk
  • Yugra Khanty-Mansiysk
  • Lada Tolyatti

Chernyshev Division

 Arkady Chernyshev (1914-1992) – one of the founders of the soviet ice hockey school. Won the inaugural USSR Championship as player with Dynamo Moscow in 1947. As a coach he won 11 World Championships, four Winter Olympic Games and two USSR Championships. He nurtured several generations of great Soviet players and coaches.

  • Amur Khabarovsk
  • Admiral Vladivostok
  • Avangard Omsk
  • Barys Astana (Kazakhstan)
  • Metallurg Novokuznetsk
  • Salavat Yulaev Ufa
  • Sibir Novosibirk 
  • Kunlun Red Star Beijing (China)

The KHL Championship tournament is divided into regular season and play-offs:
  • in the regular season all teams play 54 games (two games against every other team in the league on home and away basis);
  • in the play-off series the best 16 teams of the regular season - eight from the Eastern Conference and eight from the Western - compete for the Gagarin Cup.

The Gagarin Cup is the Kontinental Hockey League Trophy. It is named in honor of Yuri Gagarin (1934-1968) – the world's first cosmonaut. The first winners of the trophy, Ak Bars Kazan, were presented with their prize on April 12, Cosmonautics Day..

All infos can be found on the league's official website here :

Articles les plus consultés

Contracts & Trades